Set your Newrow Smart virtual classroom in either "Virtual Classroom" mode or "Webinar" mode. What's the difference?
You may have seen in settings that you can set the Class Mode of your virtual classroom to either Virtual Classroom or Webinar.
Class modes help provide a live class experience better aligned with the instructor's intent.
Class Mode: Virtual Classroom
By default, your live sessions are set as Virtual Classrooms. The virtual classroom class mode provides a “hands free” approach to managing your learners in the live session:
- Participants are prompted to turn on their devices when joining the live class. If they have already used Newrow Smart, then their webcam and microphone devices are automatically initiated.
- When your participants’ devices are activated, they are automatically added to stage.
Class Mode: Webinar
If your sessions have many participants or you don’t want your participants to automatically be added to stage, then we have the Webinar class mode. With the Webinar class mode, you have more control on who is added to stage:
- Participants are not prompted to turn on their devices when entering the live session.
- If your participants activate their devices by using the controls in the upper bar, then they are not automatically added to stage. You can add them to stage manually using the Live button in the participant list.
Change Class Modes
By default, your live classes are set to Virtual classroom mode.
- Click the Settings gear in the upper bar of your live session
- Select the class mode that you wish to use:
- Virtual classroom
- Click Close - your changes are automatically applied
The class mode you set is saved automatically and remains selected even after leaving the live class and returning later.