Newrow Knowledge Base

What Does The LIVE Button In The Participant List Actually Do?

The LIVE button is used to add or remove webcam participants from the stage.

We review the LIVE button and how to use it in the support article: Manage Your Participants With The Participant List. You can scroll through that article to the Add/Remove Participants From Stage section as well.

The LIVE button reflects whether or not the participant has turned on their webcam and/or microphone and whether or not they are currently broadcasting on stage.

The LIVE button found in the participants list has 3 states:

Screen Shot 2018-09-05 at 16.22.14
  1. When the LIVE button is red with white text, this means that the participant's webcam and/or microphone are broadcasting on the stage. Assuming you have not muted that participant, everyone in the room can see and/or hear that participant.
  2. When the LIVE button is white and enabled, this means that the participant has turned on their webcam and/or microphone, but they are not broadcasting to the room. No one in the room can see and/or hear them.
  3. When the LIVE button is white and disabled, this means that the participant has not turned on their webcam and/or microphone. No one in the room can see and/or hear them. In order for them to participate in the session with their webcam and/or microphone they must Activate Your Webcam and Microphone.

Participant Is LIVE

When the participant is live, the LIVE button is red with white text.

Screen Shot 2018-09-05 at 16.50.16

In this state, the participant's webcam and/or microphone are broadcasting to the room so that everyone in the room can see and/or hear them.

Clicking the LIVE button in this state removes the participant from the stage.

Participant Is Not LIVE

When the participant is not live, the LIVE button is white.

Screen Shot 2018-09-05 at 16.56.58-1

In this state, the participant has activated their webcam and/or microphone, but they are not broadcasting to the room. This can be because of:

  • Webinar mode - The room is in webinar mode so they are not automatically added to stage when they turned on their devices
  • You removed them - You or another moderator removed them from stage by clicking the LIVE button when it was red
  • Stage is full - You can have up to 25 webcam participants on stage at any given moment. You cannot have more than 25 webcam participants. If the participant joined while the stage was full, then they are not added to stage automatically.

Participant Is Not LIVE And Not Clickable

When the LIVE button is disabled, that means the participant has not turned on their devices or has turned off their devices.

Screen Shot 2018-09-05 at 17.01.52

In this state, the participant is not broadcasting their webcam and/or microphone. No one in the session can see and/or hear them.

To enable their devices, they must Activate Your Webcam and Microphone.