Newrow Knowledge Base

Breakout Your Live Session

Breakout your live session into smaller collaborative groups for team activity that encourages active learning and creates dynamic, engaging experiences.

What is Breakout?

Breakout is a tool that gives you the ability to breakout your larger session into smaller groups.

Let's say you are working on soft skills development for your sales team.

You have given a presentation to 50 sales team members and now you want them to practice together before continuing on to the next topic.

You can use breakout to automatically or manually assign each team member into different virtual rooms.

Once there, team members can utilize all the tools from the main room in order to work together through their group activity.

Breakout Your Live Session

  1. Click Tools
  2. Select Breakout
  3. Assign your participants to breakout rooms:
    1. Automatically - Click the Auto-Assign switch to automatically assign session participants in random breakout rooms. They will be distributed evenly throughout the available breakout rooms.
    2. Manually - Drag & drop participants to specific breakout rooms.
  4. Update the time limit as needed. To disable the time limit, simply uncheck the checkbox.
  5. Click Breakout

Your participants are automatically redirected to their assigned breakout rooms. 

Manage Your Breakout Rooms

Click the Manage Breakout button at the top of the screen to access the breakout manager.

Reassign Breakout Participants

  1. Click Manage Breakout
  2. Drag & drop participants from one room to the next to reassign them

Join Breakout Rooms From The Main Classroom

  1. Click Manage Breakout
  2. Click Join corresponding to the room you want to join

When a participant clicks Call Instructor you will see a banner message with a Join button to join them as well.

Join Breakout Rooms From Another Breakout Room

  1. Click the drop-down-menu in the breakout room upper bar
  2. Select the breakout room you want to join from the menu

Broadcast Messages To All Breakout Rooms

  1. Click Manage Breakout
  2. Enter in your message in the message field
  3. Click the Send button

Disable/Enable Breakout Timer

When the breakout timer is set, you can disable it by clicking Disable Timer.

When breakout timer is disabled, you can enable it by clicking Enable Timer.

Extend Breakout Duration

When the breakout timer is set, you can extend the duration in increments of 10 minutes. Just click the Add 10 Min button to extend the breakout duration an additional 10 minutes. Click it multiple times to add more time.

End Your Breakout Session

If you set a breakout duration, then breakout will end automatically when the time expires.

You can also manually end breakout.

  1. Click Manage Breakout
  2. Click the End Breakout button

Participants are automatically moved from their breakout sessions and returned to the main room.